Votre compte

Cuban Heels


Bored with your life? Steal someone else's...

Bestselling author Emily Barr transports readers from Brighton to Cuba in Cuban Heels as Maggie becomes increasingly obsessed with the married couple next door. Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish's thrillers and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door.

'A warmly engaging novel of genuine quality' - Publishing News

Maggie moves to Brighton after splitting up with her long-term boyfriend, and, unable to find a job, starts work as a lapdancer. Failing to make any new friends, she writes letters compulsively, and the highlight of her day is the sound of the morning post being delivered.

Maggie gradually becomes obsessed with the married couple, Libby and David, living next door. Libby has given up work after having a baby, and is finding life as a full-time mother very difficult. Just as she persuades David that she should return to work, he is asked to take a sabbatical from his management-consultant job. He's always longed to travel, and convinces Libby that they should spend six months in Cuba, learning Spanish.

Maggie, deciding she too wants to travel, follows them to Havana, where the horrors of her past - in particular her young sister's violent death - begin to haunt her. And as Maggie starts to break down, she tries to take over Libby's life...

What readers are saying about Cuban Heels:

'I couldn't put this down'

'Emily Barr writes beautifully and I could really feel Maggie's emotions throughout the book. A truly enthralling read'

'Spot-on eye for the contradictions and compromises in the lives of twenty-first century westerners, excellent but unobtrusive travel writing and compelling plot'

3,99 €
?

Ebook protégé

L’éditeur de ce livre a choisi de protéger ce fichier avec la technologie Adobe DRM.

Pour lire ce livre ou le charger sur votre support de lecture, un logiciel propriétaire est nécessaire. En savoir plus.

Vérifier la compatibilité de vos supports

Vous aimerez aussi

Fiche détaillée de “Cuban Heels”

Fiche technique

  • Auteur : Emily Barr
  • Éditeur : Review
  • Date de parution : 17/08/18
  • EAN : 9780755381609
  • Format : ePub
  • Nombre de pages: 277
  • Protection : Contenu protégé

Résumé

Bored with your life? Steal someone else's...

Bestselling author Emily Barr transports readers from Brighton to Cuba in Cuban Heels as Maggie becomes increasingly obsessed with the married couple next door. Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish's thrillers and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door.

'A warmly engaging novel of genuine quality' - Publishing News

Maggie moves to Brighton after splitting up with her long-term boyfriend, and, unable to find a job, starts work as a lapdancer. Failing to make any new friends, she writes letters compulsively, and the highlight of her day is the sound of the morning post being delivered.

Maggie gradually becomes obsessed with the married couple, Libby and David, living next door. Libby has given up work after having a baby, and is finding life as a full-time mother very difficult. Just as she persuades David that she should return to work, he is asked to take a sabbatical from his management-consultant job. He's always longed to travel, and convinces Libby that they should spend six months in Cuba, learning Spanish.

Maggie, deciding she too wants to travel, follows them to Havana, where the horrors of her past - in particular her young sister's violent death - begin to haunt her. And as Maggie starts to break down, she tries to take over Libby's life...

What readers are saying about Cuban Heels:

'I couldn't put this down'

'Emily Barr writes beautifully and I could really feel Maggie's emotions throughout the book. A truly enthralling read'

'Spot-on eye for the contradictions and compromises in the lives of twenty-first century westerners, excellent but unobtrusive travel writing and compelling plot'

Biographie d’Emily Barr

Emily Barr is the well-loved and bestselling author of Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and many other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian. After living in France, Emily and her husband (whom she met backpacking) have settled in Cornwall with their three children. You can learn more about Emily and her novels by visiting her website www.emilybarr.com.

Avis des internautes


Aucun commentaire n'a été posté sur ce livre.

Ajouter votre commentaire