Joe Sacco

  • C'est l'inquiétude face aux changements climatiques qui a incité Matt Hern, Am Johal et le bédéiste de réputation internationale Joe Sacco à entreprendre un road trip partant de la très progressiste et écologique Vancouver pour se rendre au coeur des champs de sables bitumineux du nord-ouest du Canada. Leur projet ? Aller à la rencontre des gens qui vivent de l'extraction de la ressource naturelle réputée la plus polluante de la planète et des hommes et femmes qui sont aux premières loges du désastre écologique qu'elle provoque.

    Mêlant le carnet de voyage, l'analyse politique et la théorie écologiste, Réchauffement planétaire et douceur de vivre dévoile avec finesse les impacts des changements climatiques sur les diverses communautés qui peuplent un territoire colonisé par l'industrie. Au fil de ce périple, il apparaît manifeste que toute écologie doit partir d'un processus de décolonisation, et chercher une nouvelle façon d'être dans le monde, quelque chose comme ce que Kojève appelait la « douceur de vivre ».

  • With illustrations by award-winning comic artist Joe Sacco, Chris Hedges portrays a suffering nation on the cusp of widespread revolt and addresses Occupy Wall Street in his first book since the international protests began.
    In the tradition of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Hedges and Sacco travel to the depressed pockets of the United States to report on recession-era America. What they find in Camden, New Jersey, the devastated coalmines of West Virginia, on the Lakota reservation in South Dakota, and in undocumented farmworker colonies in California is a thriving neofeudalism. With extraordinary on-the-ground reportage and illustration, Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt provides a terrifying glimpse of a future for America and the nations that follow her lead--a future that will be avoided with nothing short of revolution.

  • Named a Best Book of the Year by Amazon.com and the Washington PostThree years ago, Pulitzer Prize–winner Chris Hedges and award-winning cartoonist and journalist Joe Sacco set out to take a look at the sacrifice zones, those areas in America that have been offered up for exploitation in the name of profit, progress, and technological advancement. They wanted to show in words and drawings what life looks like in places where the marketplace rules without constraints, where human beings and the natural world are used and then discarded to maximize profit. Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt is the searing account of their travels.

empty