• In steel-tipped prose, Craig Davidson conjures a savage world populated by prizefighters, gamblers, sex addicts, and a disappearing magician. Dogs fight to the death, and in desperate arenas men with broken hands slug it out in bouts that have less to do with sport than with survival. Yet the hostility of Davidson's fictional universe is tempered by the humanity he invests in his characters, by his subtle awareness of their motivation, and by his eye for telling detail. Endorsed by Bret Easton Ellis and by Chuck Palahniuk, Rust and Bone explores violence, masculinity and life on the most extreme of margins. Craig Davidson is a young author who already displays the sure-footedness of a seasoned pro, and the best of these tightly balled, arrestingly visceral explorations of machismos dark recesses uncoil with concussive power The Times 'Davidson writes with precision and power that's hard to ignore . . . an excellent collection' Independent on Sunday Now, heres a writer who knows how to unsettle. This collection reaches in to the darkest places and is not afraid Herald 'This salty collection more than whets the appetite for Davidson's novel due ext year' Guardian

  • Anglais Cataract City

    Davidson Craig

    Cataract City, a dead-end border town overlooking Niagara Falls. Owen Stuckey and Duncan Diggs are fast friends as kids - united by wrestling, go-karts, and metal bands - but as they grow into young men, their once simple affection competes with the tensions created by their respective circumstances. Owen, born to relative privilege, seems destined to get out of the city, while Duncan, honest but hard, is hurtling along the rails towards a future working the assembly line at the soulless biscuit factory, The Bisk. As Duncan becomes more and more desperate to escape, he finds himself at opposite ends of the law to Owen, and as the coils of the city creep ever tighter around the two friends, they find themselves struggling not to break free, but simply to survive.

  • Anglais Fighter

    Davidson Craig

    Fans of Palahniuk and Irvine Welsh will relish the graphic fight sequences and gritty social commentary.--Rocky Mountain News How to Allocate Your Free Time This Month[:] Devouring Craig Davidsons gruesome debut novel, The Fighter.--Esquire This is more than a stunning debut. It reminds me how vacuous, banal and insipid most highly-touted fiction is. Craig Davidson asks--and answers--some big, uncomfortable questions about the nature of our humanity. The Fighter is an essential novel, destined for cult status at the very least.--Irvine Welsh While the novels brutal fights will entice readers of other virile allegories like Chuck Palahniuks Fight Club, Davidsons story takes a more nuanced, realistic approach.--Kirkus Reviews Everything has been handed to Paul Harris, the son of a wealthy southern Ontario businessman. But after a vicious beating shakes his world, he descends into the realm of hardcore bodybuilders and boxing gyms, seeking to become a real man, reveling in suffering.
    Rob Tully, a working-class teenager from upstate New York, is a born boxer. He trains with his father and uncle, who believe a gift like his can change their lives, but he struggles under the weight of their expectations. Inevitably, these two young mens paths will cross.
    Craig Davidson was born in Toronto an now lives in Calgary, Alberta. He is the author of the acclaimed short story collection Rust and Bone, which was published by W.W. Norton in the United States, Penguin in Canada, Albin Michel in France, and Picador in the United Kingdom.
    From the Trade Paperback edition.

  • Le nouveau film de Jacques Audiard, adaptation de deux nouvelles de Craig Davidson, est sorti le 17 mai 2012 et fait partie de la sélection officielle du 65ème festival de Cannes, avec dans les rôles principaux : Marion Cotillard, Matthias Schoenaerts (révélé dans le récent Bullhead), Céline Sallette et Bouli Lanners.Dans la lignée d'écrivains comme Chuck Palahniuk et Thom Jones, Craig Davidson aime prendre des risques. A la dureté de son univers, il allie l'émotion et la compassion qu'il manifeste envers ses personnages dont il sonde les corps, les âmes et les coeurs avec une redoutable efficacité. Son écriture, viscérale et percutante, s'empare littéralement du lecteur pour ne plus le lâcher.Ces formidables nouvelles sont les meilleures que j'ai lues depuis bien longtemps. Il y a là matière à une douzaine de romans... Croyez-moi, vous n'avez jamais rien lu de tel. Bret Easton Ellis

  • « Je connais deux garçons qui suivent un sentier secret pour aller pêcher des perches dans le bassin du Niagara, leurs cannes à l'épaule comme des carabines. Je connais le flot sans fin des chutes qui rugit dans mes veines. Je connais des forêts infestées la nuit de loups gris. »Avec la puissance et la sensibilité révélées par Un goût de rouille et d'os, adapté au cinéma par Jacques Audiard, Craig Davidson explore dans ce roman vertigineux le conflit intérieur de deux hommes liés par un secret d'enfance.Duncan Diggs et Owen Stuckey ont grandi à Niagara Falls, surnommée par ses habitants Cataract City, petite ville ouvrière à la frontière du Canada et des États-Unis. Ils se sont promis de quitter ce lieu sans avenir où l'on n'a d'autre choix que de travailler à l'usine ou de vivoter de trafics et de paris.Mais Owen et Duncan ne sont pas égaux devant le destin. Tandis que le premier, obligé de renoncer à une brillante carrière de basketteur, s'engage dans la police, le second collectionne les mauvaises fréquentations. Un temps inséparables, sont-ils prêts à sacrifier le lien qui les a unis, pour le meilleur et pour le pire ?« Un véritable écrivain, qui crée son univers littéraire en se nourrissant du corps, du coeur et de l'âme des hommes. » Joseph Boyden

  • « Craig Davidson brouille les frontières entre comédie et horreur, cruauté et compassion. Ne cherchez pas le réconfort dans ses livres : ils sont exigeants et profondément dérangeants. » (Chuck Palahniuk)
    Sarah Court est un morne lotissement au nord de Niagara Falls, Ontario. Cinq familles, cinq maisons dont les habitants semblent se fondre dans la grisaille du décor... jusqu'à ce que la plume de Craig Davidson en révèle toute l'étrangeté. Apparaissent alors un batelier chargé de repêcher les noyés au pied des célèbres chutes ; un cascadeur au corps brisé à force de chercher le danger ; un neurochirurgien alcoolique en disgrâce ; un boxeur raté et son fils obèse qui se rêve vampire ou momie ; une adepte du vol à l'étalage aux fantasmes de maternité, ou encore le fils orphelin d'une fumeuse de crack, devenu fabricant de feux d'artifice et criminel à ses heures...Connaît-on vraiment ses voisins ? Et sa propre famille ? Dans ce livre à la frontière des genres, l'auteur d'Un goût de rouille et d'os nous invite à une troublante exploration des âmes.

  • 1979, Herbert et Jess, frère et soeur abandonnés dans leur enfance par un père magicien, sont élevés par leur oncle. 25 ans plus tard, Herbert, le grand magicien déchu, ne sort plus de chez lui. Jess, policière, est suspendue suite à une affaire impliquant un coup de feu sur un enfant. Ils partent retrouver leur père. Cette nouvelle est extraite du livre le goût de rouille et d'os.Temps de lecture estimé : à partir de 1 heure.

  • Anglais Rust And Bone

    Craig Davidson

    Davidson's gripping tale of a down-on-his-luck boxer burns with bare-knuckled intensity. A meaty, no-holds-barred narrative delivered in taut, muscular prose, "Rust and Bone" is a story of hidden scars, raw wounds, and the importance of the will to fight both inside and outside the ring.

  • Anglais Rust and Bone

    Craig Davidson

    In steel-tipped prose, Craig Davidson conjures up a bleak world populated by hardscrabble pugilists, fighting dogs, sex addicts, and others held captive by their own bad luck and bad decisions. Visceral and with a dark urgency, Rust and Bone is a strikingly original debut.

  • Anglais Fighter

    Craig Davidson

    Paul Harris is a spoiled rich kid who has never had to work for anything. Rob Tully is a born fighter who trains daily with his father and Uncle Tommy, believing that his gift can change all their lives for the better. When two men step into the ring of an underground fight club, only one will walk out. Set in the world of illegal bare-knuckle boxing, The Fighter pulls no punches in its depiction of lives lived in desperation. Written with the power and originality of his debut, Rust and Bone, The Fighter secures Davidson’s reputation as a talent to watch.

empty