• From the critically acclaimed author of A Tangle of Knots comes a humorous story full of heart, courage and a touch of magic.
    Bernetta's summer couldn't be going any worse.First her ex-best friend frames her for starting a cheating ring in their private school that causes Bernetta to lose her scholarship for 7th grade. Even worse, Bernetta's parents don't believe she's innocent, and forbid her from performing at her father's magic club. Now Bernetta must take immediate action if she hopes to raise $9,000 for tuition. But that's a near impossible task with only three months until school. Enter Gabe, a boy con-artist who's willing to team up with Bernetta to raise the money. But only if she's willing to use her talent for magic to scheme her way to success.

  • One of the finest novelists of her generation, National Book Award nominee Lisa Graff returns readers to the world of A Tangle of Knots, where a camp for Talented kids just might be a recipe for disaster. In this magical companion to the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots, it's summertime and everyone is heading off to camp. For Talented kids, the place to be is Camp Atropos, where they can sing songs by the campfire, practice for the Talent show, and take some nice long dips in the lake. But what the kids don't know is that they've been gathered for a reason--one that the camp's director wants to keep hidden at all costs. Meanwhile, a Talent jar that has been dropped to the bottom of the lake has sprung a leak, and strange things have begun to happen. Dozens of seemingly empty jars have been washing up on the shoreline, Talents have been swapped, and memories have been ripped from one camper's head and placed into another. And no one knows why. With a camp full of kids, a lake full of magic, and a grown-up full of a secrets, A Clatter of Jars is story of summer, family, and the lengths we go to win back the people we love. Perfect for readers who loved Katherine Paterson's The Great Gilly Hopkins or Louis Sachar's Holes. Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: A Clatter of Jars: "Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection."--School Library Journal "Graff’s vivid character development and world building makes for tight plotting and nicely negotiable complexity. A great fit for fans of Louis Sachar’s Holes."--Booklist A Tangle of Knots “Lisa Graff has created a beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories that draw you in.”--Abby West, Entertainment Weekly, A- * “Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights.”--Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * “Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, Graff has written a tangle that should satisfy readers for years to come.”--Booklist *STARRED REVIEW* Lost in the Sun * "Graff writes with stunning insight [and] consistently demonstrates why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."--Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "Graff creates layered, vulnerable characters that are worth getting to know."--Booklist *STARRED REVIEW* * "[A]n ambitious and gracefully executed story."--Publishers Weekly *STARRED REVIEW* * "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace will give this book wide appeal."--School Library Journal *STARRED REVIEW* * "Characterization is thoughtful."--BCCB *STARRED REVIEW* "In Lost in the Sun, Trent decides that he will speak the truth: that pain and anger and loss are not the final words, that goodness can find us after all--even when we hide from it. This is a novel that speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and our human redemption. This book will change you."--Gary Schmidt, author of The Wednesday Wars and Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy "Lisa Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy and the world of people he cares about. And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."--Richard Peck, author of A Year Down Yonder and A Long Way From Chicago From the Hardcover edition.

  • Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff.
    Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie’s parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie’s seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself.
    By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses--and her friends decide to join. It’s kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever.
    In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy?
    This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos.
    Praise for Lisa Graff's novels:
    The Great Treehouse War
    "It’s kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff’s whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air."--School Library Journal
    "Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun."--Booklist
    "[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."--Publishers Weekly
    "A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity."--Horn Book
    Lost in the Sun
    * "Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review
    * "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace."--School Library Journal, starred review
    "This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you."--Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars
    "Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."--Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder
    Absolutely Almost
    * "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."--Booklist, starred review
    * "Achingly superb."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review
    * "Graff’s...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one’s strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward."--Publishers Weekly, starred review
    "The patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering."--BookPage
    A Tangle of Knots
    “A beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories.”--Entertainment Weekly, A-
    * “Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights.”--Kirkus Reviews, starred review
    * “Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, [this] should satisfy readers for years to come.”--Booklist, starred review

  • From the author of the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots comes an inspiring novel about figuring out who you are and doing what you love.
    Albie has never been the smartest kid in his class. He has never been the tallest. Or the best at gym. Or the greatest artist. Or the most musical. In fact, Albie has a long list of the things he's not very good at. But then Albie gets a new babysitter, Calista, who helps him figure out all of the things he is good at and how he can take pride in himself.
    A perfect companion to Lisa Graff's National Book Award-nominated A Tangle of Knots, this novel explores a similar theme in a realistic contemporary world where kids will easily be able to relate their own struggles to Albie's. Great for fans of Rebecca Stead's Liar and Spy, RJ Palacio's Wonder and Cynthia Lord's Rules.
    Praise for ABSOLUTELY ALMOST * "Albie comes through significant emotional hardship to a genuine sense of self-worth."--School Library Journal, starred review * "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."--Booklist, starred review * "Achingly superb, Albie's story shines."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review * "Graff's...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one's strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward, taking on the world at his own speed."--Publishers Weekly, starred review "Lately the patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering."--BookPage "Maybe the wonder of Absolutely Almost is that it's willing to give us an almost unheard of hero."--Betsy Bird, Fuse #8 Blog

empty